Unique Eats Close to Home

As a college student, it’s pretty easy to settle into a routine with classes, studying, working out and eating. Midway through the semester you’re probably pretty bored with the same few meals you cook over and over again or the same restaurants that have become your go-to. Tampa is a melting pot of cultures, which is reflected in the local restaurant scene. So why is it so hard to find a new and exciting place to grab some food around the university? It’s not. Just ask around and students will tell you where they go to get the best food.

Mr. Dunderbak’s

Mr. Dunderbak’s was suggested by multiple students who claim that this spot is the best place to get traditional European comfort food and the best beer in town (if you’re old enough, that is.) It’s clear from the moment you step foot inside that this restaurant holds true to European-style dining. The tables are long benches which small parties are asked to share, the atmosphere is uniquely pub-like and customers drink out of oversized room temperature mugs.

Mr. Dunderbak’s is everything a college student could ask for: huge portions of great food at reasonable prices. And if you’re missing mom’s comfort food from home, this restaurant can help with that too: essentially every menu item is a hearty option that makes everything seem just a bit better. If you look at the menu and feel overwhelmed (likely because it’s near impossible to pronounce most of it) just ask your waiter for a suggestion or two.  The sauerbraten, one of the most traditional items on the menu, is perfect for roast beef lovers, and the wide array of schnitzel options are great for anyone wanting to try something different. They also offer homemade applesauce and homemade apple strudel to satisfy your sweet tooth.

With Mr. Dunderbak’s located just 3.5 miles north of campus, this is the perfect spot for students to take a break from the books and enjoy some uniquely delicious food.

2 thoughts on “Unique Eats Close to Home

  1. This is so true! I just went there for the first time last week. It is delicious! I was not familiar with German food, but it became a delicious favorite. Also, the server was very knowledgeable about the food and beer. His beer recommendation was spot on. I loved it!

    Like

  2. I found this restaurant a few years ago when my sister was attending USF, and it is now one of my favorites! I never knew how much I loved German food until I went here, and whenever my family visits we always go there. I didn’t know that other students knew about it, but I’m glad they do. The jagerschnitzel is my favorite, and I’m agree that their portion sizes are really big, which is great.

    Like

Leave a comment